LMFA-No

Well, the news is true. LMFAO is LMFA-Over.

Creepiest. Uncle. Ever.

I know. I took it pretty hard too. They had a great two summer run, with hits like “I’m Sexy and I Know It” and that other song that sounds just like “I’m Sexy and I Know It.” Not only was the music of LMFAO a huge hit on the Jersey Shore and at bar mitzvahs, but it also made its way to the top of the Billboard “Ringtone” chart, which is just a stupid list to have in the first place.

Now, I know you think you already know everything about LMFAO, and I’m sure you know a lot, but I’m here to drop some knowledge and take you to college on Redfoo and SkyBlu…because those were the names they chose for themselves.

  • Redfoo’s real name is Stefan Gordy, and SkyBlu is Sklyer Gordy, his nephew. That’s right. These guys are uncle and nephew. But how far apart are they in age…?
  • Sky Blu is 26 (acceptable). Redfoo is 37 (unacceptable). When you are 26, it’s alright if you’re messing around and end up making a song entitled “I’m in Miami, Bitch.” When you’re 37, it is not.
  • Redfoo’s father is Berry Gordy. Wait, what? Yeah. The founder of Motown birthed half this circus act. The afro-sporting, leopard-print Speedo wearing clown is the youngest of his eight children (obviously, because at that point you just stop caring). Sky Blu is the son of Gordy’s second oldest kid. So, just to recap, Berry Gordy discovered Michael Jackson, but spawned LMFAO…
  • Last Friday, the duo announced that they were taking some time apart, to absolutely no response. They are denying that the split is permanent, but I think we can all agree that if you can get away from Redfoo, you stay away from Redfoo. “
  • In a statement to whomever would listen, Redfoo said, “All the music that I’m going to make is always going to be LMFAO-ish… I love all the topics that we talk about.” Here are some sample LMFAO lyrics, to give you a taste of the music 37-year-old Redfoo would like to continue producing in the coming years: “I got passion in my pants and I ain’t afraid to show it,”  “Wiggle, wiggle, wiggle, wiggle, wiggle yeah (x3),” “I’m tryna get a hot dog” (apparently they have a song called “Hot Dog”), and of course “shots shots shots shots shots.”

Listen, I’m not going to say I don’t see along when “Party Rock” comes on when I’m at the grocery store, but I think the split is the best thing that ever happened to these two. Maybe Sky Blu will get a chance to explore his possibilities within the music world, maybe try something new. And hopefully Redfoo just won’t get arrested.

Leave a comment